KZN Literary Tourism Authors Win at 2016 SALA Awards Print
Wednesday, 09 November 2016 21:39

KZN Literary Tourism is please to note that Gcina Mhlophe and Ingrid Winterbach were triumphant at the 2016 South African Literary Awards (SALAS). Mhlophe was awarded the "Chairperson's Award" for her body of work while Winterbach won the "Lifetime Achievement Literary Award" for her body of work.

PHOTO: From left to right, Gcina Mhlophe and Ingrid Winterbach


About the SALA Awards:

Founded by the wRite associates, in partnership with the national Department of Arts and Culture (DAC) in 2005, the main aim of the South African Literary Awards (SALA) is to pay tribute to South African writers who have distinguished themselves as ground-breaking producers and creators of literature, while it celebrates literary excellence in the depiction and sharing of South Africa’s histories, value systems, philosophies and art as inscribed and preserved in all the official languages of South Africa.

The Awards honour our living literary practitioners, legends and, where appropriate, others posthumously. To date, the South African Literary Awards has honoured 133 authors and they are becoming the most prestigious and respected literary accolades in South African literature.